arts council logo
The BLHS Art Department welcomes Resident Artist Duarte Brown.  This residency is made possible by the Ohio Arts Council’s Teach Arts Ohio grant.
Mrs. Jennifer Davis was awarded a TeachArtsOhio grant for $12,600 from the Ohio Arts Council to support her work with Resident Artist Duarte Brown during the 2023-24 academic year.

Great things are ahead for Mrs. Davis and the BLHS students as she seeks to integrate unique arts learning experiences into her students’ learning, which continues to be more important than ever.
Jennifer Davis shared, "Duarte will be with us during normal school hours every Tuesday during the 23-24 school year. Our school is going to be greatly blessed by Duarte and the residency this year!  My art students will be forever impacted."
As part of the Ohio Arts Council's TeachArtsOhio grant, Duarte and a collaborative team of Benjamin Logan educators (art, music, vo-ag) will also hold a professional development workshop with BLHS staff during the month of February.
The team is very grateful to Governor Mike DeWine, Lieutenant Governor Jon Husted, and members of the Ohio General Assembly for acknowledging the importance of public funding for the arts through the state budget.
The following video gives a glimpse of who Duarte is and the impact our community can anticipate this year. (The video was featured when he received the Governor's Award for the Arts in 2022).

Mrs. Davis first worked with Duarte and Donte, the young man that shares in the video, about 10 years ago when they came to BLMS for a collaborative project.

Welcome to Benjamin Logan High School

Benjamin Logan High School is a public, four-year comprehensive high school. The average student enrollment is 150 students per graduating class. Benjamin Logan is fully accredited by the State of Ohio Department of Education. It is a member of the consortium of local high schools comprising of the Ohio Hi-Point Career Center. Students may attend the career center on a full time or part time basis their junior and senior year, to enroll in specialized vocational programs.



Maddy HerringTrevor Sclesky

Maddy Herring

Trevor Sclesky

sugesstion box

Memory Brick


Order Form